Mamnoon Hussain elected 12th President of Pakistan

Jul 30, 2013| Courtesy by :

President-PML-N-Mamnoon-elected_7-30-2013_111663_lISLAMABAD: Mamnoon Hussain, the candidate of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), was elected on Tuesday as the 12th President of Islamic Republic of Pakistan for the next five-year term.

 According to Electoral College results announced by the Chief Election Commissioner, Hussain secured 432 Electoral College votes from Parliament, Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa assemblies, while his opponent PTI candidate Justice (retd) Wajihuddin Ahmed secured 77 votes.

According to the breakup of votes, Mamnoon Hussain clinched 277 votes from Parliament; 54.14 from Punjab Assembly, 24.76 from Sindh Assembly; 21.49 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and; 55 from Balochistan Assembly.

Justice (retd) Wajihuddin Ahmed clinched 34 votes from Parliament; 4 from Punjab Assembly; 1.9 from Sindh Assembly; 36.17 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and 01 from Balochistan Assembly.

The Constitutional tenure of the incumbent President of Pakistan, Asif Ali Zardari, is set to expire on September 8, 2013.

The polling for the presidential election was held simultaneously in the Parliament and provincial assemblies which were pronounced polling stations at the outset of their respective proceedings today.

It may be mentioned here that Mian Raza Rabbani, the presidential candidate of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), had boycotted the polls following its rescheduling by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) in compliance with the orders issued by the Supreme Court on PML-N’s petition.

PPP’s candidate Rabbani was of the view that the new schedule would not leave sufficient time for campaigning in the four provincial capitals and in Islamabad.